BAMB Video Blog #3- “Love in the Time of Cholera” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (is my Boyfriend)

Video Liner Notes

-In Order to Get the Jokes in This Video- All you need to know is that Gabriel Garcia Marquez has magical shit happen in his novels on, like, every other page . Quesadillas turn into marching bands, forks become zombies, girls’ periods become butterflies, and it’s all supposed to metaphor-motif-symbolize how everything-is-ruined-forever things are in Colombia, Land of Drugs and People Speaking Spanish and Drugs and More Drugs.

- This was one of the last videos Alex and I did in our Inaugural Afternoon of Filming, so we lost a little bit of light, hence the “mood shadowing.” I think you’ll see why I decided NOT to be a nitpicky perfectionist and post the vid even though it doesn’t have A+ lighting (the reason why is because Alex is balls-to-the-wall hilarious in this and the OTHER REASON is because I not-so-secretly-because-I’m saying-it-on-this-blog hope that one day, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, while surfing the interwebs, in between his Facebook turning into a rollercoaster and his Twitter turning into a centaur, will stumble upon this video and he can smile a little smile before he turns into paper airplane and flies away.)

-I think we need to do “One Hundred Years of Solitude” as a future-follow up, so that Alex can say more hilarious things and I can prove that I know other Spanish besides “Ay yay yay”, “Bueno” and “Rolling my R’s.”


16 Comments on “BAMB Video Blog #3- “Love in the Time of Cholera” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (is my Boyfriend)”

  1. Peg says:

    mucho, mucho bueno, you begin my day with laughter! Gracias amigos!

  2. Ti says:

    I want some ramen with shooting stars.

    I’m glad you posted this one even though the lighting wasn’t to your liking. Alex’s accent became MANY things. I detected Russian and Hungarian!!

  3. Chelsea says:

    I love your Spanish accent, Kit! I thought your “ay ay ay”s were especially authentic.

    “his Facebook turning into a rollercoaster and his Twitter turning into a centaur”

    Goodness gracious, girl, it’s like you just verbally vomit absolute hilarity all the time. I wish I could know you in non-blog real life. You crack my shit up! Also, tell your friend Alex that, despite his Spanish/Russian accept combo (he ventures a bit towards being Kafka again towards the middle, hehe) that I appreciate his hilarious contributions to what is now my most looked forward to weekly dose of bookish hedonism.

    Oh, and I guess GGM is pretty cool. Since this is a blog about books and all… :D

    • You’re the greatest and best, Chelsea, I am glad times a million that you like the blog so much! I must tell you though, I’m like the Michigan J. Frog of the interwebs, I’m only cool when I’m on my blog, in real life I’m dumb and boring and suck :) I KID, I’m all right in real life, but it is fun to be BLOG ME which is way sillier and sassmatassier than I think I could get away with in Real World Life.

      Thanks again for tuning in lady friend, see you next week!

  4. Lori (TNBBC) says:

    Can I just tell you that I think you are hilarious? I love this whole books-as-boyfriends concept. What happens when you read a book that doesn’t get you all hot and bothered? Keep going, I can’t wait to see what you post next! And thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. Love to meet fellow indie-freaks!

    • TNBBC! Thank your sweetheart comments! I SO enjoy your blog and am so excited to be blog friends! With regards to your question, I try to be as classy a book girlfriend as possible and if the relationship didn’t work out, don’t want to embarrass my Book Ex-Boyfriend by telling everyone on the interwebs how bad he was in Book Bed. However I read a book recently that I have a love/hate relationship with (re: I loved the first two-thirds, and am pretty sure I hated the last third) so I’m thinking of blogging at some point about Book Boyfriends that start out awesome-sauce and then pull that dick male move and “change” over the course of the relationship, or books that feel like they’re breaking up with you while you’re still reading them. And of course I never have any qualms about making fun of “Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” because I don’t think that book gets made fun of enough. In any case, so wonderful to comments-section meet you. Indie-freaks forever and for always!

  5. socrmom78 says:

    As usual, cracking up laughing at your description of the “magic shit” in Garcia Marquez’ books. So right on it’s crazy. I actually think I remember the section where the periods turn into butterflies!

    • Thanks Socrmom! Yeah, when sexuality shows up in a GGM novel (which is always), you know you’re in for rivers of blood and murders of crows and avalanches of rainbow snow and just the nuts-craziest of shit.

  6. Ash says:

    This is my first time at your blog. Hilarious! I haven’t read this one yet but your enthusiastic make-out session definitely makes me want to pick it up!

    Also–love your dress!

    • Hey pal-friend, thanks so much for coming by the blog! I supes enjoy your blog, so excited to have another cool book blog friend. And thank you for your sweetness about my dress! There’s a fun story behind it— I went backpacking through Southeast Asia last year and had this dress (and the dress featured in the A NOVEL BOOKSTORE post) tailor-made for me for dirt cheap in the little town of Hoi An in Vietnam. Favorite souvenirs ever, ever.

  7. softdrink says:

    I only made it halfway through the video. Because my computer crashed. This is it’s new trick whenever I try to watch videos. Mucho sadness! So…crap, I’m bummed I can’t watch your videos! Maybe I need to go shopping for a new laptop?

    • Alex and I and our combined sassiness have been known to crash a computer or two in our day. I hope you can watch our videos in the near future (if for no other reason, so you can see Alex and I embody the dictionary definition of “ridiculous,”) but in the meantime will try to make the prose reviews extra-awesome to compensate. Thanks for stopping by, pal-friend!

  8. Oh! I thought that was hilarious. I loooved this book, although I think it’s due a re-read.

    Love the Spanish accent, and looking forward to seeing more of your reviews. Very very impressed!!! Aren’t we so incredibly lucky to be around such fantastic loveable books?

    Love the dress as well :)

    • We are SO lucky to be around such fantastic, loveable books. Every day I send up a thank you to the universe for my good health and all the good books I get to read.

      Re-read “One Hundred Years of Solitude” around this time last year and can vouch that Garcia Marquez makes for GREAT re-reading, was knocked out by how many salient details and fascinating patterns imprinted on my brain upon re-reading that hadn’t even registered on the first read.

      I enjoy your blog so much, I’m glad we’re going to be blog pals!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers