TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME by Carol Rifka Brunt (is my Book Girlfriend)

WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT:

Props where they are due. A LEVIATHAN-SIZED thanks to Liberty Hardy for the rec. She mentioned the book in a “Well Redheads” feature she regularly writes with my book blogging fairy godmother Rebecca Schinsky . The piece covered the girls’ choices for best reads of 2012 so far and there are some slamming picks on this list- Age of Miracles, Arcadia, Contents May Have Shifted, Stay Awake, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, Glaciers… okay, yes, I have read 2/3’s of this list. I read instead of doing real things, you guys know this.

One of the books I hadn’t read on the list was Brunt’s Tell The Wolves I’m Home. This was Liberty’s take:

“I’ve also been telling everyone about Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. It’s about a teenage girl whose uncle dies, and she discovers that he had a partner her parents never told her about. She starts meeting with him in secret, and learning more about her uncle and her family. On top of being a wildly impressive debut, this also has one of the best covers of the year.”

It’s a pretty good sum-up. Things to add: it’s a “period piece”, yes 1987, the year I turned one year old is actually a period now. The first person narrator is fourteen year old protagonist June and she is smart and articulate, but not in a way where you’re like “YOU’RE NOT FOURTEEN, YOU’RE AN ADULT AUTHOR WITH AN MFA AND A REALLY GOOD HANDLE ON EXTENDED METAPHORS.”  It deals with siblings, families, and generations in ways that felt both universal and fresh. It also explored grief in a manner most mind-blowing. It feels like a movie that Fox Searchlight or Indian Paintbrush would make with a really good cast and put out in July and no one would go see except me AND I WOULD LOVE IT SO MUCH. I cried three times reading this book. I have been trying to get into, I mean REALLY get into a novel for a couple of weeks now with a lot of putting-down-books-forty-pages-in. Swamplandia was my last “Oh, wow, I really READ something.” Well, now this. Now Tell The Wolves I’m Home is my most recent “Oh, Wow, I really READ something.”

WHAT KIND OF GIRLFRIEND IS SHE: A lonely fourteen year old girl who is obsessed with medieval times and often walks around the woods in medieval-ish clothes and old-times boots pretending to be going on quests- I know, I know, I know, I love this as a character too.

MY DATE WITH “TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME”-

I help her put on my boots…

Have fun storming the castle!

3 Comments on “TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME by Carol Rifka Brunt (is my Book Girlfriend)”

  1. Jenny says:

    Aw, I loved this book so much. I got a copy for my grandmother and I think that she is highly likely to love it also. I want to get copies for everyone so we can talk about how we teared up when Finn left June that note about his hands being messed up. I teared up a lot at that part. Maybe cried an actual tear.

  2. [...] “Tell The Wolves I’m Home” by Carol Rifka Brunt (is my Book Girlfriend) (booksaremyboyfriends.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. Cassie says:

    I love that you say the year you turned one year old is actually a period now. I was born in 88 so whenever she would mention it being 87, I was like, “wow, strange.” Love your review! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers